- Medical Card
- Visiting Patients
- Purchase Limits
- Sales Tax
- Government-Issued Photographic Identification Card: This includes any valid ID card issued by the government that contains a photograph of the individual and Date of Birth DOB.
- Valid medical cannabis (marijuana) card issued by a registered healthcare provider in the state of Maine.
Out of State Residents:
- Medical cannabis patients visiting Maine need only produce their state-issued registry identification card, certificate, or other state-issued documentation of the visiting patient’s status as a medical cannabis patient in their state of residence, in order to purchase medical cannabis while visiting Maine.
Patients who are residents of the following states may purchase from a registered dispensary or caregiver medical cannabis while visiting Maine, subject to the limitations imposed by the laws and rules of the State of Maine the laws and rules of their state of residence. This list is subject to change as of August 19, 2023.
Approved states: Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, California, Connecticut, Florida, Hawaii, Illinois, Iowa, Maryland, Massachusetts, Michigan, Minnesota, Missouri, Montana, Nevada, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New Mexico, New York, North Dakota, Oklahoma, Oregon, Rhode Island, Utah, Virginia, Vermont, Washington, Washington, DC.
Maine registered caregivers and dispensaries may refuse to provide medical cannabis to any visiting patient whose credentials are suspect or otherwise insufficient to determine whether the visitor is a qualified patient in their jurisdiction of residence.
Purchases must be made from licensed medical cannabis dispensaries or caregivers.
Product Quantity Limits
A dispensary or caregiver may sell up to 2.5 ounces of cannabis (marijuana) flower or a combination of cannabis (marijuana) flower and concentrate to a qualifying medical patient in one transaction.Maine Title 22, §2423-A of the Maine Revised Statutes, subsection 2, paragraph A-1.
A qualifying visiting patient may purchase up to 2.5 ounces of a combination of medical cannabis and cannabis products every 15 days while visiting the state.Maine OCP
Medical cannabis (marijuana) Non-Edibles: Subject to a 5.5 percent general sales tax rate at retail.Maine Revenue Service
Medical cannabis (marijuana) Edibles: Subject to a 8.0 percent general sales tax rate at retail.